• Task Force for Reopening Schools


    Make sure to also explore the Task Force for Reopening Schools tab above for a dropdown of additional information.


    The Highlands School District Task Force for Reopening Schools was established in order to develop a Health and Safety Plan for reopening schools that meets the district's needs while keeping the health and safety of our students and staff at the forefront. The plan requires school board approval and submission to the Pennsylvania Department of Education before the district can begin any in-person instruction for the 2020-21 school year.

    The Task Force Members below are assigned among these five subcommittees for the plan development: 

    Group 1: Facilities, Cleaning, Sanitizing, Disinfecting & Ventilation

    Group 2: Social Distancing & Other Safety Protocols and Considerations for Students and Staff

    Group 3: Monitoring Student and Staff Health

    Group 4: Health and Safety Plan Communication

    Group 5: Transportation

    Task Force Members 2021-22

    Dr. Monique Mawhinney - Superintendent

    Dr. Cathleen Cubelic - Assistant Superintendent/Pandemic Coordinator

    Ms. Cathy Russo - Curriculum Coordinator

    Mr. Mike Losk - IT Director

    Mr. Chris Reiser – Director of Buildings & Grounds

    Dr. Amber Dean – Student Services Director

    Mrs. Jaclyn Walker – Food Services Director

    Mr. Drew Karpen – Athletic/Transportation Director

    Mrs. Jennifer Goldberg – Communications Coordinator

    Officer Joe Naviglia – School Police Officer

    Mr. Shawn Bennis – High School Principal

    Dr. Laura Burns – High School Principal

    Dr. Kim Price – Middle School Principal

    Dr. Stanley Whiteman – Elementary Principal

    Dr. Jo Welter – Early Childhood Center Principal

    Mrs. Kristie Babinsack – School Board Representative

    Ms. Laura Butler – School Board Representative

    Mrs. Nicole Kocon – School Board Representative

    Mr. Gene Witt – School Board Representative

    Mrs. Melissa Lentz – High School Nurse

    Mr. Matt Beresik – Band Director/Fine Arts Representative

    Mrs. Melissa Billingsley – PE Teacher/Elective Course Representative

    Mrs. Melinda Eckenrod – Special Education Teacher Representative

    Mrs. Faith Foster – Special Education Teacher Representative

    Mrs. Carly Mazur – Kindergarten Teacher Representative

    Mrs. Kristine Hrivnak – Elementary Teacher Representative

    Mrs. Christine Izydore – Elementary Teacher Representative

    Mrs. Lisa Pinzok – Elementary Teacher Representative

    Mrs. Julie Seitz-Allman – Middle School / Counselor Representative

    Mrs. Nicole White – High School Teacher Representative

    Mrs. Amy Yeckel – Kindergarten Teacher Representative

    Mrs. Marnie Kosmal – Secretary Representative

    Mrs. Jaye Misejka – Secretary Representative

    Ms. Jackie Santi – Paraprofessional Representative

    Mr. Ed Svitek – Custodian Representative

    Ms. Donna Smith - Custodian Representative

    Mrs. Tammy Jones - Food Service Representative

    Mr. Todd O'Shell - ABC Transit Representative

    Dr. Kultar Shergill - School Physician

    Ms. Jen Bosak – Medical/Parent Representative (HES & MS)

    Mrs. Michelle Peters – Medical/Parent Representative (HS)

    Mrs. Beth Ringer – Parent Representative (HES & MS)

    Ms. Sharon Fennell – Parent Representative (HS & MS) 

    Mrs. Kelly Powell – Parent Representative (MS & HS)

    Ms. Holly Levin - Parent Representative (HECC)

    Ms. Adelle Carpenter - Parent Representative (HECC)